The Monte Freaking Cristo #SeriousSandwich

This sandwich made me feel like a Rock Star!! If you are new to my blog, I have not been cooking long at all so there are a lot of things I have never done, even the basics! It has definitely been part of the challenge and fun of blogging, learning something new! I have come a long way since I started my blog and have been having so much fun along the way. I especially love this cook along! The #SeriousSandwich Bloggers have been so awesome and Emeril is amazing! Everything in this book looks so good and isn’t crazy complicated!

Click on the cover to order your copy.

One of my all time favorites sandwiches is the Monte Cristo! So for me to make one at home, build, bread, fry and serve, well it was freaking awesome! I was so happy to have this delicious meal at home. My husband and I used to go to one of our favorite local Irish places on Sunday’s and I would always get the Monte Cristo…I haven’t had one in years since we’ve moved!!! Now I can make them whenever I want, muaaaaahhhh. I actually want to throw a brunch just to show off my new frying skills. I’d have these ready to go and then fry them up fresh for my guests. Bloody Mary’s of course are optional ;-)

I have never made a Monte Cristo before and I have Emeril to thank for it :) I will definitely be making these again!!  Thank you Emeril for making me a Rock Star in my own Kitchen.

Emeril was so kind, we were all able to ask him some questions. I feel so honored to have him reading what I am writing and taking the time to answer some questions so we can all get to know him better. Thank you so much Emeril for taking the time to answer these!!! Made my day, shoot my month!!

Question #1

In your awesome new book, Emeril’s Kicked-Up Sandwiches, what is your favorite sandwich?

A: That’s a tough one. So many of them have special places in my heart. For instance, the Eggplant Muffulletta and the Roast Beef “Debris” Po’boy both remind me of my earliest days in New Orleans. Then there’s the Columbia Street Grinder, which was inspired from my childhood days growing up in New England. And you know, I am a real salmon-lover, so the Pan Roasted Salmon with Shaved Fennel, Oven-Roasted Tomatoes and Lemony Ricotta Spread really speaks to me. And then there’s the Porchetta…

Question #2

What was your very first job that was food related?

A: I worked in a Portuguese bakery in my home town of Fall River Massachusetts when I was still a young boy in school. It was a pivotal moment for me in terms of changing my direction in life.

Question #3

I would love to know what it is like to be at home with Emeril, what is a favorite Go-To, quick and easy meal…?

A: I am all about quick and easy when at home cooking for my wife and kids – one of our favorite things to do at home is a quick fried rice. You can use what you find in the fridge, add bits of leftover roast meats, poultry, vegetables, etc., and you’ve got a complete meal. My wife is a real seafood lover and so we often prepare very simply sautéed fish with quick pan sauces and simply steamed veggies. Of course my kids love pasta and so that shows up on the menu a lot as well.

Question #4

Where do you go for inspiration? For example, the Pork Rillette on Pumpernickel with watercress and fig vinaigrette…YUM!! How did you come up with that sandwich?

A: Well, you know, pork rillette is something that we have often in the restaurants and we use it as little amuse portions when folks sit down to look at the menu. It wasn’t much of a stretch to make a sandwich out of it since it is often served with mustard, pickles, and toast points. The fig vinaigrette, well, everyone knows that pork and fruit is a wonderful combination! Plus I just love figs.

Question #5

What does the refrigeration process do to let’s say the monte cristo or the chocolate wafers?

A: The monte cristo can be refrigerated before being battered and fried, but I really don’t think it’s a sandwich that would be very good reheated…most fried foods are best enjoyed just after being made. The chocolate wafer cookies really don’t need to be refrigerated. I have made them and kept them in paper pastry boxes for several days with no problem. The fudgy centers are fine at room temp, too.
                                                                                                                                                       

And those were my questions! I didn’t know what else to ask. I feel a little silly about the #4 now…I didn’t know that, see Emeril has taught me so much :)

I have two more questions to ask you Emeril. If you could meet and have a conversation anyone dead or alive who would it be and why?

When did you first say BAM?! ;-)

Refrigerating my Cristos :) This is seriously an awesome sandwich, you can prepare ahead of time and make fresh very quickly just warm up your oil. And who doesn’t like cooking with beer, I highly suggest drinking one while you are making this, you deserve it, Rock Star! At first I was struggling with the tongs and the frying but by the end I had three or four sammies in there and was frying up a storm. I used my hands to bread the sandwiches and drop them in though it was just easier, I used the tongs to remove and also to make sure they were completely fried. 

And the finished product. Better then in a restaurant and super fresh. Yum, yum, yum!

Thanks Emeril and Morrow Cookbooks for an awesome experience so far. Only 3 more Sandwiches to make for me and the cook along will be over, a little sad to have our #SeriousSandwich blogging come to an  end. But…I’ll definitely be cooking more Emeril food and especially going to try out his quick fried rice suggestion! BAM!

Check out all the #SeriousSandwich Bloggers

It has been a pleasure blogging with you all!! :)

10 thoughts on “The Monte Freaking Cristo #SeriousSandwich

  1. My husband loves a Monte Cristo sandwich. There was a restaurant near us that served it and he would order it every single time we went there. Sadly it closed so he hasn’t had one in a while. I need to surprise him and make this sandwich for him sometimes.

  2. Love Monte Cristos, and it’s been years since I’ve made one. Bookmarking now. Your questions for Emeril are awesome, especially #4 – I love to know what inspires chefs.

  3. I believe avoiding highly processed foods would be the first step to help lose weight.
    They might taste fine, but prepared foods currently have very little nutritional
    value, making you consume more in order to have enough energy to get over the day.
    When you are constantly ingesting these foods, converting
    to whole grain products and other complex carbohydrates will
    make you to have more electricity while consuming less.
    Thanks alot : ) for your blog post. http://www.
    nojiyan.net/mediawiki/index.php/%E5%88%A9%E7%94%A8%E8%80%85:Calupopneqe443,
    ˥`Х 996

Leave a Reply

