#SundaySupper Papa’s Potato Salad & Baked Beans #Tailgating

I have so many fond memories of being at Padres games with my dad and tailgating with friends growing up. He used to have a VW van, a bright red one. We’d pile in, me and my bros and take, at the time, Pat’s Potato Salad and Baked Beans. Since then he’s been named Papa by Crazy Kid. I love this Potato Salad and Baked Beans so much I always ask my dad to bring them to BBQs. Both are so good with a burger and I love to mix them together; I can’t have one without the other. The sweet beans with the cold crisp and fresh potatoes is a perfect mix. I like to add mustard on top of the potato salad 🙂

Papa’s Potato Salad

  • White Rose Potatoes. About 8-10 for a group of 8-10 people. Boil potatoes until they are done, then test with a fork.
  • 8-10 Potatoes – Sliced
  • 5 Stalks of Celery – Diced
  • Small Red Onion – Chopped
  • 6-8 Eggs  – Diced
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup Mayo or until desired consistency
  • Mustard (optional)
  • 1 Tablespoon Granulated Garlic
  • 1 Tablespoon Sea Salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon White Pepper

Combine all of the above in a very large mixing bowl, gently fold the ingredients. If you are storing in the fridge for the night you may want to go easy on the Mayo and add a tiny bit more before the event.

Papa’s Baked Beans

  • Van Kamps pork and beans – for a large group use two of the tall cans, for a smaller group, and you will want leftovers, use one tall and one of the shorter #2 cans.
  • 1 ½ to 2 lbs. of bacon diced
  • 1 – ½ onions diced
  • Add salt, pepper, mustard (the yellow French’s), and molasses. You will need to do these by taste and color.

Cook the bacon until nearly done then add the onion and cook until the onions are translucent, then drain the fat. Poor the beans into a bowl and remove the piece of pork that will be in the beans. Add bacon and onion mixture. Pour the mixture into a bean terrine (if you have one) or into a casserole dish and bake for at least one hour at 350 degrees.  If you like, cook longer until the surface gets the way you like it.

If you aren’t lucky enough to be tailgating, then you at least will be happy to be at home with your blender to make this awesome drink from Teresa Howes, the author of Skinnytinis.

Click here to check out the recipe.

If you ARE going to the game try out Teresa’s favorite Tailgating drink:

  • Light Beer
  • Cheap White Wine
  • Diet Sprite

Chill and mix, Teresa says it’s the best tailgating drink ever 🙂

Need more tailgate ideas? Check out this lineup:

The Lineup

Pre Game Warm-ups:

On the Sidelines:

Main Events:

Overtime:

From the Cooler:

Wine Pairings by Wine Everyday

Don’t forget to join us on twitter at 7pm ET to talk all things tailgate.  Usetweetchat to follow along with #SundaySupper.

We’d also love to feature your tailgating recipes on our #SundaySupper Pinterest board and share your menu with all of our followers!

42 thoughts on “#SundaySupper Papa’s Potato Salad & Baked Beans #Tailgating

  1. Pingback: Tailgating Menu
  2. This post is full of all kinds of good stuff! Mixing baked beans and potato salad? Brilliant! And that watermelon drink looks incredibly refreshing – the perfect drink to wash this salad down with.

  3. I went to a conference in San Diego once and one of the other attendees asked me if I liked baseball and wanted to go to a game while I was in town. I didn’t realize until I arrived that she was the sister of the owner of the team! I got to sit in the owner’s box, take a tour of the stadium and the Padres’ official photographer took my photo on the field. Oh, and I also got to touch Tony Gwynn’s bat! So cool.

  4. An impressive share! I’ve just foraarded ths onto a friend wwho wwas conducting a little research
    oon this. Annd hee iin fact boght me lunch
    becaause I stumblerd upoln iit foor him… lol. So allow mme too reword this….
    Thank YOU for the meal!! Butt yeah, thanx forr spending some tume to discuss this
    topic here oon your website.

Leave a comment