Image

Cholula Chicken Enchiladas #SundaySupper

Cholula Hot Sauce is my absolute favorite! I put it on everything! I used to have a bottle in my car just in case…man I need to replenish that supply. When it comes to keeping the soul warm I always think of hot sauce first. I love Cholula so much and it is also hot but not overwhelming, it is warm 😉 well I mean it is hot sauce so if you have too much your mouth will be on fire but oh it is such a lovely taste. I have to have it on my fish tacos, rolled tacos, anything Mexican. It also is awesome on breakfast burritos and mac n cheese. So it seemed like an obvious choice to make an Enchilada sauce out of it. Cholula did not even have a recipe for this…they will now, it came out amazing!! A new favorite and it was so easy. I should note that I do not like enchiladas with too much sauce, so this is a dryer version than your usual enchiladas.

Ingredients

1 Rotisserie chicken (because that’s how I roll)

Cholula Hot Sauce (1/8 cup)

Tortillas (corn or flour your preference, I like flour for enchiladas normally)

1 can diced Green Chiles

1/2 of an Onion, diced

1/2 green pepper, diced

1 ear of corn, well, the kernels cut from the cob anyway

1/8 cup California chili powder

1 8oz can of El Pato tomato sauce

1/4 cup water

3 tablespoons of veggie oil

1 tablespoon flour

1 fresh garlic clove, minced

1/2 tablespoon of crushed carroway seed

1/2 tablespoon of crushed coriander

1/2 can of black beans

green onions

Shredded cheese of your choice (jack, mozzarella, and cheddar make a nice mixture)

Directions

No I don’t have man hands, thanks Hubster for being my assistant 🙂 I started by boiling water and cooking the ear of corn. Meanwhile, I preheated the oven to 325 and I pulled all the meat off the bones, shredding it into a large bowl. In a saucepan, I heated the oil, added the garlic and flour. After a minute, I added the chili powder and stirred. After another minute I added the tomato sauce, water, green chilies, and the Cholula.

The corn was finished, so I cut it from the cob. After stirring the sauce for a few minutes, I turned off the heat, and added the chicken, onion, green pepper, beans, and corn.

Next I filled up the tortillas…they actually turned out like pretty respectably sized burritos, and placed them in a glass dish. I sprinkled the cheese over them, tossed some green onions on top, and popped it in the oven for 10 minutes.

After the 10 minutes, I broiled on high for 3 minutes, making the cheese into a nice bubbly and slightly crispy topping.

Cool and serve. I topped with extra Cholula, you know, to taste 🙂

This Week’s Warm you up Sunday Supper Recipes:

Main Entrees: 

Chili/Stews:

Soups:

Desserts/Beverages:

Join on us on Twitter throughout the day during #SundaySupper.  In the evening we will meet at 7pm EST for our weekly #SundaySupper live chat.

All you have to do is follow the #SundaySupper hashtag or you can follow us through TweetChat.

We’d also love to feature your Sunday Supper Soul Warming Recipes on our #SundaySupper Pinterest board and share them with all of our followers, too.

47 thoughts on “Cholula Chicken Enchiladas #SundaySupper

  1. You crack me up, I love the idea of you keeping a jar of hot sauce in your car ‘just in case you need it’. : ) I have been craving burritos all week and now that I read your post I my craving just got worse.

  2. These enchiladas look delish! And its ok that you keep your favourite hot sauce in your car. Totally acceptable 🙂

  3. I could do some serious damage to these enchiladas right now…seriously YUM! My husband loves the Chipotle Cholula and I love the Chili Garlic Cholula, so we pretty much always have a couple of bottles around, as well. I need to make a big ol’ batch of these beauties.

  4. OH YEAH! When I saw the photo with all that melted cheese on top, I immediately started drooling. Kristen, you crack me up – I love that you kept a bottle in your car for food emergencies. I also hope you have a bottle in your purse, you know, for those times when you can’t make it back to the car for your hot sauce fix!

  5. Made these and they were delicious. Changes: brined and grilled chicken breast, added a pile of fresh cilantro at the end, and doubled it which made two pans. One for freezing. Also served with a dollop of Fage yogurt and a little butter lettuce. My enchiladas are normally way too cheesy and soupy. This was an excellent way to make truly healthy ones.

  6. Pingback: Easy Wonton Soup

Leave a comment