Image

Grilled Idiazabal Cheese with Quince Paste, Pears, and Walnut Butter #SeriousSandwich

This sandwich sounded so good, I just knew I had to make it. Turns out though, I had to make a few substitutions. So, instead of Idiazabal cheese, I used Manchego. Instead of Quince Paste, I used Quince Preserves. Instead of Walnut Butter, I made Pecan Butter. I did use a Bosc pear, sliced so thinly you can see through it, and pumpernickel bread. Why all the substitutions? Hmmm, I guess it turns out I need to investigate some new specialty markets in my area. And I need to investigate my supplies better before I start something 🙂
This sammy was very good. It was sweet, from the fruit. It was savory, from the bread and cheese. The nut butter gave it some richness.  No cayanne or chile or paprika, so this was the least spicy of all the sandwiches I’ve tried from Emeril’s book. Interesting though, because the flavor combo stood up well to the Ruination IPA I happened to be drinking (a beer that claims to be so hoppin’ tasty, it ruins your palate).

Click on the book cover to order your copy of Emeril’s Kicked-Up Sandwiches.

#SeriousSandwich Bloggers

4 thoughts on “Grilled Idiazabal Cheese with Quince Paste, Pears, and Walnut Butter #SeriousSandwich

Leave a comment